April 8, 2010

  • Easter 2010

    This is the first year that Austin really got the whole "Easter" thing, with the egg hunt and everything.  He wasn't really into it last year.  So this year, we planned to go to church in Auburn (thanks again, Jennifer for inviting us!), so Austin could be reunited with his little cousin Karli who he made friends with when my parents were visiting a few months ago. And so he could meet his other little cousins Jayce and Garrett.  Also, this is the first time Kristi and I have spent Easter together since we were kids. (Somewhere there are pics of us when we were little kids in our Easter outfits-haven't located them yet.) We were really looking forward our visit on Sunday!  And to visiting with lots of people we hadn't seen in ages, and many that Chris hadn't even met. 

    So our day started bright and early!

    apr2010 083

    The Outfit.

    apr2010 085

    The basket.

    apr2010 094

    Drawing on the dry erase board after the morning church service.  Then everyone had lunch together-yummy potluck!

    apr2010 095

    After the potluck, Kristi showed off her music teacher-y skills and taught the kids a funny song.

    apr2010 096

    Oh, and funny it was!! LOL  She will kill me for posting that one, but I love it!  I love Kristi!!  I can feel the happiness jumping right out of the picture!

    apr2010 099

    Someone else read them a book.. (I think during these things, the adults were outside hiding the eggs.)

    apr2010 100

    Ready for the hunt!! (I forgot to bring Austin's basket!)

    apr2010 101

    Holli gave a fab speech to the little ones about sharing and not fighting over the eggs.

    apr2010 104

    Um, jackpot!

    apr2010 109

    At one point, he had his own personal secretary holding his bag.

    apr2010 112

    Karli has a basket full.. I don't know how Holli's boys managed to escape my camera.  I'm sad that I didn't get a picture of them or a group picture of the kids.  They are some ADORABLE boys!!

    apr2010 106

    An egg shaped like a carrot!

    apr2010 117

    Run, RUN!

    apr2010 116

    ..and more running..that's him in the background.. And I gotta hand it to Kristi.  It was cold, and by cold, I mean FURRRRR-EEEEEzing!  And she still went with the springy Easter outfit with sandals.  Topped off by her winter coat!  When we left to come home later that afternoon, it had started spitting rain, and I half expected it to snow!

    apr2010 119

    I love you Kristi!  Can't believe your toes didn't snap!  I went for the boots and jean jacket and still froze!  Sandals? NO WAY.  Not freezing my toes off, I need them to walk!

    apr2010 127

    A sample of the loot.

    apr2010 126

    All the kids sat around opening their eggs, and trading with each other if they wanted.

    apr2010 128

    A little temporary tattoo!

    apr2010 129

    Thanks again for all your hospitality, guys.  We had soo much fun.  Austin fell asleep on the way home, he was so beat.  We'll have to come back next year, and bring the little plastic eggs we brought home.. refilled with some new little treats!