April 2, 2010

  • 1949 sewing project

    Well, I meant to blog more in 2010.  Yah, right. It is already April.  I can't believe it!

    Our 2010 got off to a busy start and seemed to fly.  Among the many reasons that we were so busy at the start of the year..

    jan2010 017

    moremar.2010 068

    Maybe we will have some time to stop and catch our breath now that it's spring.

    I managed to finish Austin's "I Spy" quilt a few weeks ago.. blue dots for the border, and I found a little "I Spy" fat quarter at a quilt shop in Joplin last time I went to visit my parents.. I cut the logo out and tacked it onto the corner.

    ispy 008

    moremar.2010 118

    And now, my next fun project is rehabbing this old quilt top.  It came to me from my Aunt Shirlena, who got it from my grandmother, who I think may have gotten it from her mother, my great-grandmother. 

    moremar.2010 124

    At first glance, it looks like a pile of fabric, a few holes here and there, some seams coming un-sewn, and some rust/water stains.  (It was all sewn together by hand and everything, but some of the seams have been gone over with a machine)  But turns out, it's a "friendship" type quilt, with names and sentiments (some scriptures) embroidered on the blocks. The middle block says "Goodwill Club, Dormis, MO Nov. 1st, 1949.  (the family moved to CA from MO back in the day) It seems that the only obvious name that's missing is that of my great-grandparents, so I wonder if it was made for them. Maybe that's how they ended up with it in the end.  Who knows?  It is a family mystery.

    moremar.2010 127

    It has names of lots of family members that are passed on, lots of them I knew though.  And some other names that I don't recognize.  But I can't bear to throw it away.  And I don't want to just leave it in a closet as a pile of falling apart fabric.  Somewhere, sometime, lots of people cared enough to embroider their names and make something for someone, even if it was never finished.  So my goal is to finish it, fix it up a little, dress it up, quilt it and find it a good home.  

    moremar.2010 125

    Plus, I found this REALLy great fabric, and the colors are perfect! 

    moremar.2010 123

    wilmington_fanciful_65160-1428-514_blocks_7_75in_225_per_strip

    (The chicken picture is kind of yellowy, they are the same bright colors. From the Wilmington Fanciful line of fabrics.)

    I  colorful happy fabrics!! !!  I have another idea that I hope turns out as cute as I think it will.  And I love the yellow and the red circles.  Oh I hope it turns out!

    moremar.2010 141

    The End. (for now.  If it turns out, I'll post another picture, if not, it may go back in a bag in the closet.)

Comments (2)

  • what a GREAT project!!!!  i'm so impressed with all that you take on.  i'm also a bit envious, but in a good way.  (if that's possible)  lol  you GO girl!!  can't wait to see the finished product!  love you!!

  • love you too, Lisa! have a safe trip tomorrow!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment