September 2, 2009

  • Sidewalk Chalk

    We have had lots of fun with sidewalk chalk this summer.  Our back patio has pretty much been covered with it all summer.

    We've drawn everything from trains and railroad tracks to street signs and stick people.  The alphabet, numbers, you name it.

    I was shocked one day when Austin drew this:

    july2009 140

    I said, "that looks like a 'P'," and he said, "Yes, it's a big 'P'!" That's his name that I had drawn for him that he drew the 'P's over the top of.

    Then just to see if he knew how, I asked him to draw some other letters.  It was fun to see the wheels spin in his little head as he thought about it and then tried.  I was shocked that he could actually draw the A, B, and D when I asked him.

    july2009 137

    the next 'A' is realllly flat!

    july2009 138

    ..then 'D'

    july2009 141

    ..and 'B'...

    july2009 139

    He also threw in a "2" for good measure.  Kind of looks like a backward "S".

    july2009 142

    You gotta love sidewalk chalk!

    A photo of the artist: (squirting his mommy with water from a spray-bottle which is also good for erasing chalk lines.)

    july2009 025

Comments (2)

  • Nice job Austin!!  Those 2's are very hard!!  Ainsley still writes them backwards a little too often!!  I hear that is normal for this age though . .  .we'll see . . . : )

  •  @mobecca - I remember writing alot of numbers and letters backwards in KG. lol My mom still has a plate that I made in KG that I decorated with my address and phone # along with other pictures, and I think most of the #'s in the address and ph.# were backwards!  And I'm not too abnormal now, so I think Ainsley's okay.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment