July 13, 2009

  • Newfoundland

    I borrowed these pics from a breeder's website.. (shh, don't tell)

    As far as we could tell, since Duke was adopted, we think he was a Golden Retriever/Newfoundland mix.  He had the sweetest temperament, and we would like to get another big dog for Austin.. SOO, this is the kind of dog that we are thinking about.

    This is a Newf puppy, a Landseer (which is the black and white version-my fave I think)

    oceanviewbabies1_2009

    Here is another pic, still puppy but getting bigger.

    oceanview9_2005

    And here is the full size version.  Aren't they cute?  And big... and fluffy?  But they are very furry, and very drooly, I think.  Our house would prob. just be a big mess all the time and we would prob. lose all of our friends, no one would come to visit us. ha!  But aren't they SWEET?

    oceanviewthunder2_2009

    We may go and visit a breeder just to look at their dogs and learn more about them, to see if it is the right kind of dog for us.  If we end up with one, it won't be for a while.

    Austin is doing okay.  Yesterday morning, he was playing all by himself talking to his trains, and singing, etc.  Music to my ears.  Since Duke died, he has been so clingy, I wondered if he'd ever just play by himself again.  But then last night, he woke up in the middle of the night again.  So who knows?  Will prob. just take time. He's still acting ultra-sensitive about things and getting his feelings hurt super easy.  Just trying to be extra patient.  Which some days I'm pretty good at and some days I need to work on.  

    I wonder if getting a new dog so soon would help him or if he would feel like his friend got replaced? hmm.  He loves dogs, I know that. It was even his first word at 9 mo. old or so.  He started saying "uh-GOG" every time he looked at Duke.  I was slightly offended that his first word wasn't "mama".  In fact, "mama" wasn't even his 2nd word! But I digress.

    So aren't these little furballs (turned BIG furballs) adorable?

Comments (4)

  • I love these kinds of dogs! SUPER FUN! I was sorry to hear about duke though :(   Love ya!

  • They are adorable. I don't know anything about their temperament, but they're cute! The golden retriever is still my favorite big dog. They are very gentle and affectionate.

  • @GrandmaMeents - These are called gentle giants b/c of their temperament and they are supposed to be great with children.  We were told by a breeder that they are not really good for being "watchdogs" b/c they are so gentle, but that their size and bark usually does the trick. lol  I can't wait to go and visit one and see the dogs in person.  We have seen them before out and about but never up close like that.

  • @jass77 - Thanks! Love you too!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment