July 8, 2009

  • In Memory..

    I've been wanting to do this for a while, but haven't had the time or energy to sit and go through these photos on the computer... We lost our dog, Duke on June 22nd.  He was almost 13 years old.  He was just a puppy when I met my husband.  We really got to know each other taking him for walks.  All these years later, he was a big part of our lives.  Saw many changes.  Protected me and made me feel safe when I lived alone..  it was while walking the dog that Chris, my husband, proposed to me.., he was there when I sold my house and moved into Chris's house, when we brought our baby home from the hospital, and when we moved to the house we now live in.  I feel lucky to have had such a good dog.  He taught Austin a love for animals and how to be gentle and kind to the elderly since he was already a "senior" when Austin was born.  He was such an easygoing dog.  Anyway, here is my little tribute to him, along with some listening enjoyment..  We will always love our Duke the Dog!

Comments (3)

  • Well...I am balling my head off now. Excellent tribute.

  • @oeshpdog2 - I'm sorry Bryan!  I didn't want to make anyone cry... I just wanted to make a slideshow remembering Duke.  And I wanted that song to go with it.. I love that song.  I understand though.  We've all had a rough couple of months, huh?  Whenever I pray for the grieving I think of people who have lost family members, and also I think of you guys, and of Austin b/c he is still dealing with the loss.  Tonight he saw some of the slideshow, walked in when it was on the screen, and I could really tell it bothered him, he started crying at the drop of a hat, and acting really clingy and insecure for a while.  Broke my heart!  Love you!  Can't wait to see you guys.

  • Well...that was the SWEETEST thing...and now I'm a mess too, right along with Bryan.  So neat how dogs become part of our families and teach our kids so much!   Its obvious how much you loved him...so sorry for your loss :(

    Love ya girl ~ Blessings 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment